Dishing the Cream on my home-made Cauliflower soup

One of the things I am grateful for and now appreciate about myself is the fact that I am in fact a pretty darn good cook. I’ve done it since before Adam was a boy…at least since I was old enough to lift a pot, and that’s a long time. Over the years, because of limited income (a phrase I try not use any more) and having to make do with just the basics of life, I have learned the skills necessary to create amazing dishes out of the “nothings” I see in my old Mother Hubbard’s cupboard. I love experimenting with limited ingredients to create meals that taste great and what I consider healthy for me.

The other day the local grocery store had heads of cauliflower for a marked-down price of a whopping $1.49. Can’t beat that price, I thought. I purchased a pack, not quite sure what I would do with it since I am not a huge fan of vegetables. Arriving home, I decided I’d better do something with it fast as it was beginning to lose its freshness, which is why I supposed they had it marked down. At first I thought I’d just lightly steam them and freeze them for later use, but then I got this brilliant idea (I get those sometimes) to pulverize the steam veggies, add a little milk (I would have used real cream if I had it), a few of my favourite spices, and create my version of creamed of cauliflower soup. Well, the results were astonishing, if I do say so myself! The two heads of cauliflower yielded a fair amount of mixture. I now have enough soup to last me the entire week, just in time as Fall, my favourite time of the year, makes its cooler entrance.

Liked It? Pass it along or let me know!

